Fending Off Direct Sellers

A strange thing happened to me after becoming a small business owner. I go to many networking events to make contacts and drum up business. I’ve met a lot of good people, obtained a few clients and learned quite a bit about business ownership.

The strange part comes in the form of other business owners who do some form of direct selling to clients. They offer a plethora of products, but I’d categorize them all as being similar to Amway in business structure. Even though I am busy with my own business, they all want to recruit me to their businesses. They ask me what I do and then do a cursory listen before trying to sell me on their businesses as a great opportunity.

I guess this is how they all become successful at what they do, but I really think they’re barking up the wrong tree.  All of my focus is on my newly launched business. I’ve been quite excited about it and it seems strange that I have to ward off other selling offers. Prairie Scribe keeps me busy and I can’t imagine having the time or passion for yet another new endeavour.

I encounter this problem outside of networking events, too.  I’ve done some writing for a local newsletter, where my bio and website are listed after my articles. I had a call from a complete stranger who wanted to tell me about his great business opportunity that will make me an extra $1000.00 each month.  This seems like a crazier sell to me. At least if I’ve met someone, I might consider his offer credible.  I would have to be pretty naïve to say yes to some random stranger on the phone.

I’ve talked to other business owners, and my experience seems to be par for the course. I guess it’s just one of those things you don’t expect when you are new to business.  If it’s the worst problem I have with networking, I can’t complain. I just feel bad for all those direct sellers who are wasting their breath trying to pitch me a “fabulous” new career opportunity.

About Prairie Scribe Writing

Susan is the owner of Prairie Scribe, a technical writing, editing and training company located in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada.
This entry was posted in General, Small Business. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

